
Computer users warned of new (Image: Getty)
People leaving multiple tabs open on their computer are at risk of falling victim to a huge scam. Online hacking fraudsters have invented a new way to steal people’s personal information through the means of "tabnapping". This is a new form of phishing scam where open, but inactive, tabs are used as a portal for hackers. Dorset Police are now warning computer users to stay safe from the scam, and to close tabs down once done with them.
A spokesperson for the force said: "Tabnapping targets people who keep multiple tabs open in their browser, often for long periods of time. The fraudsters then use JavaScript to change the contents and label of an open, but not active, tab to resemble the log-in screen of a bank, email provider or online shopping store."

Computer users should close down any inactive tabs to prevent the scam. (Image: Getty)
After the fraudster is successful in changing the tab’s content, users clicking back onto the page will be greeted with a fake log in. Typically, users will assume they have been logged out of whichever session they were on, perhaps online banking or a shopping cart, and re-enter their information.
This log-in information is then directly sent to the hackers, which they will use to commit fraud with your details.
Some criminals even display a message on the fake log-in screen, which says the session has time out, requiring them to log in again.
"This is a message that appears on legitimate websites, particularly on banks, increasing the likelihood that the user thinks the log-in screen is trustworthy," the spokesperson for Dorset Police said.
Invalid email
We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you've consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our Privacy Policy
Computer users can stay safe against the scam and use various preventative measures. Installing anti-virus is one way to ward off the hackers, as well using anti-spyware software.
If you happen to have numerous tabs open and you are unsure if the log-in page is legitimate, the safest move is to close the tab down, and reopen the page by typing in the URL again.

1 year ago
78










English (US) ·
Turkish (TR) ·